IVF-Infertility.com home

Experiences with PGD

Discussion forum for those particularly interested in IVF and embryo transfer including frozen embryo transfer.

Experiences with PGD

Postby wishing4baby » Mon Jan 19, 2009 1:28 am

My DH and I were just told by my RE that our repeated chemical pregnancies are probably caused by poor egg quality. So, we are going to do PGD this next cycle.

Any ladies out there have experience with PGD? I would love to hear your thoughts and if it was the answer to getting pregnant. Thanks!
ME-29 (stage IV endometriosis; maybe poor egg quality) DH-28 (perfect)
IVF#1 & 2 - BFN
3 FETs - all chemicals
IVF#3 - 31 frozen day 1 embies
FET - 6/12/09- BFP
Beta #1-522 Beta #2 -1899 u/s shows twins!
3 blast frosties & 16 day 1 frosties
wishing4baby
Regular

Sponsor

Postby AmandaM » Mon Jan 19, 2009 1:59 am

Wishing

I have a lot of experience with PGD and would be glad to answer any questions for you. I have a known genetic condition which creates a 50% chance of passing on to any child. For that reason we went through IVF to get pregnant and along the way discovered that I had an egg quality problem. Basically with PGD, if you don't already know, you go through the IVF process as normal. Then after they are fertilized, on day 3, when they are about 8 cells developed, they will remove one cell from each embryo and send it off to be tested for what ever they are testing. For me, the place that tested my cells built the test based on my DNA, from blood that was sent a few months earlier. After three cyles, because it took 2 to determine that I actually had a fertility issue, I am not pregnant with twins!
IVF # 1 Chem preg Beta #1 49 Beta # 2 33
IVF # 2 Chem preg Beta #1 9 Beta #2 22 Beta #3 168
IVF # 3 BFP!! 1st beta - 565 2nd 995 3rd 9,269 It's TWINS!!!!

AmandaM
Regular

Postby shelleyj5 » Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:37 am